//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Delete Uber if you want, but it still has your data

oh great

Gigaom

The ongoing uproar over the ethically challenged Uber has brought about calls to delete the service. And to my surprise, some people are actually doing this: I’ve already seen a few friends boast on Facebook that their Uber app is no more.

Leaving aside the question of whether these folks will return (my hunch is yes), the more interesting issue turns on the fact that it’s basically impossible to “delete” Uber in the first place.

While you can remove Uber’s app from your phone and submit a request to delete your account, you’re never really gone for good. I’ve pointed before to Uber’s privacy policy, which spells out that the company can keep your data — your ride history, your locations, all of it — as Uber sees fit and for as long as it likes:

Even after your account is terminated, we will retain your Personal Information and Usage Information (including geo-location…

View original post 342 more words

Advertisements

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: